Help? Software Developer's GuideTo InfoSec

Hi all the gurus and the fellow members,

I am a c# .net developer, Graduate in computer engineering and recently completed my law graduate degree as well, working as a software developer for last 7 years. Now my concern is to persue a career as an infosec expert as well as a cyber crimes lawyer but after a lot of googling and asking people didn’t get the answer.

1. My first Question is being c# developer helps in anyway to become an infosec expert? if yes than what can i skip which an absolute beginner cannot.

2. so if i want to start a career in infosec can someone please define the main fields of infosec, as i came during my research that infosec has several branches but no one defined them in a systematic manner.

3. so if being a newbie in cyber security world, can some one list down a list of skills from beginner to elite which i have to research and study. for instance i have been looking for OSCP and CISSP last week and pentesting as well but ultimately came to know that i have to have some previous knowledge before i can start with them. so if you can list in a systematic manner that would be a great service.

4. Is infosec is all about using the tools already in the market? if yes than how can an expert be different from others i mean if everyone uses the same tools than whats the point of Cyber Security.

I hope no one is offended by any of my questions or my words, if so i am sorry in advance

Regards,
Imran

Hi @Imran,

The answer of 1st question you raise is that, programming is an essential thing for Ethical hacking, as a hacker can write it’s own proof of concept, have better understanding of how things works, etc

But as you mentioned, you have a good experience of c# .net, these programming languages are not my favourite programming languages,